In 1950, fourteen area artists joined together to form a club for recreational painters. The group met in the basement of the United Church where the membership quickly grew . A number of the new members were teenagers whose enthusiasm and vitality ensured the groups continuation.
The little group from a small northern village quickly began gaining recognition outside the Almaguin area. In 1956, Gladys Stuart and Helen Pink held an exhibition in the Odeon-Carlton theatre in Toronto and many of the other members won acclaim in various juried exhibitions throughout the province.
In 1957 the Northern Ontario Art Association started its juried exhibition and the Burk’s Falls group , as they had joined three years previously, was one of the first to take advantage of the show.
Classes taught by respected instructors, lectures on art appreciation and workshops continued to add to the growth of the group and their influence in the provincial art scene.
As the group moved into the 90’s there was increasing interest shown in the club by those who practiced other forms of arts such as knitting, wood carving, potters, quilting, jewellery and soap making. They are now an integral part of the group and evidence of the wide variety of artistic talent in the area.
In 2010, the club took another big step forward when they obtained the use of a historic building in downtown Burk’s Falls to display and sell their products. The Centre with its distinctive bright yellow awning quickly became a focus for tourists and others looking for a unique gift or something for their home. It is located adjacent to Stan Darling Park and the artists can often been seen working there on a painting while visiting with each other and those stopping to observe. They are always willing to encourage new painters or explain their technique.
Visitors to the Centre quickly realize that it is going to take much more than a few moments to see all of the articles located throughout the two floors of the building. Each one is encouraged to sign the guest book before leaving and there are few parts of the world that haven’t been represented at least once. The Centre is open from May until the end of September.
The club now boasts approximately 50 members. Monthly meetings are held at the Burk’s Falls Royal Canadian Legion on the second Wed. of each month.